Sew Your Way Through 2013!

Manor Farm Tea Shoppe Sewing WorkshopLast year I was very excited to team up with Manor Farm Tea Shoppe at Bleasby, Nottinghamshire to put on a series of Sewing Workshops and I am pleased to say that we had a very successful year. The purpose built function room is such a great space to hold these with plenty of natural light, views of the garden, and great food!

Lunch at Manor Farm Tea Shoppe

During the year I have met some lovely people with varying levels of experience but all have had vast amounts of enthusiasm and best of all I’ve enjoyed the reaction that people have had when they have finished their item, ‘I can’t believe I’ve made that!’ I’m also pleased to say that I have learnt such a lot too! Here’s just a small selection of some of the beautiful items that the ladies made, and I think you will agree they have done a fabulous job!

Kathy's Journal

Appliqued Cushion              Caroline's Hand Embroidered Needle CasePam's Needles and Pins CaseJackie's Appliqued Cushion

 

 

 

 

 

Needle Case

Linda's Cafetiere Cosy Smell the coffee!

Trish's Cosy

Free-machined tea cosy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What has surprised me has been the resurgence of interest in embroidery in particular. Embroidery is something I have enjoyed since being a child and just a few simple stitches can transform all manner of items making them unique. I particularly like how embroidery can added another level of texture and interest to other sewn items. I like things to be simple to start work on so favour just working embroidery stitches free-hand without the need for transferring patterns for the most part (although I know at times this is necessary!) so you can just pick up and needle and thread and begin. One of my favourite stitches is the bullion stitch and working bullion roses which I never seem to tire of and everyone seems to like. It takes a bit of practice but is well worth the effort of learning. I also enjoy embroidering with hand dyed variegated silk ribbon, so many pretty colour combinations available and so little time!

 

Hand Embroidered Needles & Pins Case

hand embroidered flowers

Hand Embroidered Buttons

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In view of the interest in embroidery I’m starting this year’s courses off with ‘A Fine Romance!’ embroidering and making a beautiful hand embroidered heart or Scandanavian style heart door hanging, fancy joining us?

 

Embroidered Heart

Where:  Manor Farm Tea Shoppe, Bleasby Nottinghamshire, please ring  01636831316

When: Friday 18th January 2013 10am-4pm

Cost: £45 includes tuition and light lunch, tea/coffee

Materials: A materials pack can be purchased on the day (Approx £8) or you can bring along your own (a list of requirements can be provided)

PLEASE BRING ALONG YOUR OWN SEWING MACHINE AND BASIC SEWING KIT ALTHOUGH IF YOU REQUIRE THE USE OF ONE PLEASE REQUEST ON BOOKING. THANK-YOU AND I HOPE YOU CAN JOIN US

If this date is not suitable for you please feel free to contact me by email where private tuition can be arranged or perhaps you might be interested in one of our other sewing workshops, lots choice and beautiful things to make take a look here. Please book early to avoid disappointment. Happy sewing!