Nice day for a white wedding!

It’s the wedding season! For the last couple of Spring/Summers I have been very privileged to attend two beautiful weddings. As you would expect these were very special days, months of preparation with attention paid to every detail culminating in a day to remember for the rest of their lives. I admit it, I am a bit of a romantic!

I got to thinking that I would like to create a special gift,something that would house all those incredible memories of the day and decided that I should like to design and make a hand embroidered wedding album.

When it comes to embroidery I usually just like to just pick up a needle and thread ( or silk ribbon) and begin, although I knew I wanted to incorporate a heart shape and my favourite stitch, the bullion rose, the rest I like to work as I see how it is developing. I love the texture and softness that silk ribbon embroidery adds to a design, such muted , gentle colours perfect for a wedding theme!

image

Bullion Rose

 

image

The beauty of making a gift meant that I was also able to personalise it, the inside cover showing the bride and groom’s names along with the date of their wedding( no excuse for forgetting the anniversary!)

image

I love undertaking commissions for weddings and in addition to my hand embroidered wedding albums, I design and create unique appliquéd and hand embroidered wedding bunting for the top table, wedding planning journals, guest books and special wedding cushions. If you are looking for a very special gift, please do get in touch to discuss your requirements.

image

image

image

image

image

Perhaps you would like to learn how? please see my Learn How page where details of my sewing workshops can be viewed. I hope to see you there for a relaxing, social and creative day!