Appliqued Lampshades

I really enjoy creating interesting projects to tackle for my Sewing Workshops which I  run in Nottinghamshire and further information can be found here. Often I am a little over ambitious in what can be achieved at a day workshop, but I believe that you never know what you can achieve until you try! However, I always like to ensure that you can access the project whether you are new  to sewing or whether you are very experienced and end up with a lovely item to take home.

IMG_2001

One of my favourite projects so far this year has been making appliqued lampshades. Lampshade making has now become a fairly straight forward project with the use of lampshade making kits  and beautiful shades can be made to match your decor without too much difficulty in a couple of hours. For my workshop, I did not want to go down this route and being an applique fanatic I thought it would be more of a challenge and interesting to add applique to a shade, the possibilities are endless! and that is what is so great about applique, whatever your style and taste you can create something you like and which is unique!

I love Spring flowers and their fresh vibrant colours and decided to use this as my starting point and began sketching a few ideas, I was surprised at how long (almost a metre width) for a 30cm drum lampshade was needed, but relished the space to create, i couldn’t resist using it all!

free-machine applique

Free-machined blue tit

Appliqued lampshade

section of appliqued lampshade

Appliqued lampshade design

Country Garden Collection

Country Garden Collection

Appliqued lampshade and cushion

Now my design did take a couple of days to design, draw, applique, machine and put together but remember you can add as little or as much as you like to your design! This new range I decided to call the ‘Country Garden Collection’, and they are made to order, each one is unique and can be made in 20cm, 30cm and 40cm drum, beautifully appliqued cushions are also available in this range. Please contact me for further information. Alternatively if you would like to learn how to make your own unique appliqued lampshade, or learn how to applique more information is available here. Say no to boring lampshades and get creating!

Country Garden CollectionCountry Garden Collection